I love you, love you, love you — Only if you let me, let me, let me

All this secrets stuff is bringing memories out of the woodwork. Andy’s mention of a cassette tape in his secrets meme made me think of an old boyfriend who once made a tape for me when I was 14.

I’ll just call him K.C. so that I don’t wreck his M.C. career. Below are the lyrics of a rap he recorded for me. He was a DJ, so the recording was pretty sophisticated, mixed with background vocals and everything–all from the comforts of his bedroom studio, on a ZZ Top tape that he over-dubbed by taping the holes on the top of the cassette.

Let me give you some background. I must have written him a letter or something telling him off and referencing Deniece Williams’ song, Silly:

Silly Of me to think that I could ever have you for my guy
How I love you... how I want you...
Silly of me to think that you could ever really want me too
How I love you...

Chorus:

You're just a lover out to score
I know that I should be looking for more
What could it be in you I see
What could it be...

Oh, Love, oh, love, stop making a fool of me
Oh, Love, oh, love, stop making a fool of me

This was his response. He alludes to the song in his text. I need you to hear a moderate laid back beat, reminiscient of a cool stroll as you read this:

Sittin’ here in my room, thinking of the time

I would hold you in my arms when you were mine

The memory is a happy one, it makes me smile

I think about you every day, not once in a while

You seem to think I was cheatin’ on you all of the time

But little did you know that you were all mine

No Alexis, I’m not a lover out to score

And I’ve never met anyone like you before

You do seem to think I love you

But really I do

Girl, it wasn’t silly of you

Because…

Chorus

I love you, love you, love you

Only if you let me, let me, let me

I love you, love you, love you

Try not to forget me, -get me, -get me

Oh, Lordy, Lordy, Lordy. This cracks me up everytime I sing it. I wonder what he’s doing now?

Jesus! Did I mention I was 14?

This is why I don’t have children!

4 thoughts on “I love you, love you, love you — Only if you let me, let me, let me

  1. Wow! He could rhyme! So many rappers get all messed up because they just can’t rhyme. It’s a key skill, dontcha think?

    Young love… (sigh)

  2. Indeed he did have skills. She neglected to mention the prelude to the song where he says “I would do anything for you …which begs the question… Would I suck my own penis”

    I really enjoy remembering our teenage years…

Leave a Reply

