Happy New Year…Choose Well!

Well, it’s that time of the year again: the end. I enjoy this time of reflection and anticipation. I went back today to read my end of the year posts for the last two years. Last year I was excited to have my kitchen finally cleaned after the Great Cookie Baking Caper. The year before I was just happy to be able to hope that things would actually get better for me in this life…at some point. Man am I light years from that place. I enter this year without the slightest hint of a dark cloud looming. I feel great. I am happy. I am checking things off of my goals list like a madwoman. Things are falling into place. I am living my own life as my own person and I am loving it! So, instead of making resolutions, here are my reasons for not making any this year:

  • I don’t feel like I need to make any resolutions about losing weight, or eating healthier or working out, because I’ve learned to incorporate those things into my life without being rigid about them (I actually ate curried chicken for Christmas, because I wanted it…and it was soooo good! Thanks to my favorite Trini!).
  • I don’t feel like I need to make any resolutions about being easier on myself and loving myself more because I feel like I’ve made the switch in my head already. I matter. I have to love and care for my self first before I have any hope of doing so for anyone else in any meaningful or healthy way.
  • I don’t feel like I need to make any resolutions about being a better person and treating people better because, while there is always room for growth, I’ve learned that it’s not that hard to treat people with dignity and respect when you treat yourself with dignity and respect…it just flows.
  • I don’t feel like I need to make resolutions about being more godly or loving God better because this spiritual journey I’m on is exactly that, a journey. I get out of it what I want. I’m enjoying a guiltless, honest relationship with God/myself in which I’m learning how to find the best way for me to connect with the divine. It’s still very much a work in progress, but no need to make any rules for the process.

If I have to name the most significant lesson I’ve learned this year, it would be this simple one that is probably so obvious to those of you who’ve taken control of your own destiny: You can have the life you choose!

2007 is forever marked in my memory as the year I discovered the creative power of choosing. A million thanks to all of you who have encouraged me and guided me into that truth. I am loving the fruits of this. While it doesn’t mean that I can control everything that happens in life, it does remind me that how things affect me are all up to me.

Happy New Year, Everyone!

May this year be filled with choices that lead to being your very best self.

Peace and Love!

Lexi

7 thoughts on “Happy New Year…Choose Well!

  1. Well, I “don’t feel like” leaving a message here — but I’ll do it anyway.=)

    You have a wonderful blog. I look forward to reading more of your thoughts. Happy New Year to you!

  2. Yay, choice! šŸ™‚ I know choice is the most important element of my life, too. I’m not into resolutions or even goals in any significant way. Getting up each day and saying “yes” is really sufficient.

  3. A wonderful post, Lex. You have expressed so beautifully my own thoughts about making New Year’s Resolutions – or not.

    I have watched you grow in confidence, self-respect and love during the time I’ve known you and bellied up here, and it has been a beautiful journey I was so happy to witness.

    I am confident that your New Year will be everything you want it to be because you have learned that YOU are the architect of your own life, and nobody else does it better.

    Wishing you so much happiness, peace and joy every day.

  4. As the singer of Kwesi’s life anthem says, “I Choose.”

    This is great, and I am overjoyed that we are collectively choosing the best for ourselves. Isn’t it a great feeling?

    Keep on choosing!

  5. Beautiful!

    Almost as beautiful as you. I value your friendship and I look forward to our next time together.

    May all your dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

