What a Way to Start the Year

I have a huge meeting tomorrow, but I am in my bed roasting with a fever of 101.5 degrees. Can someone fix me?

What do you need to know? My dosha is Pitta. No head congestion, just a killer headache and dry cough. I have consumed more immunity defense organic teas than I can stand. I have eaten cold rice brown basmati rice with raisins, cinnamon, vanilla and almond milk (Pitta foods, cooling). I’m drinking orange juice, pomegranate juice and water. What else can I do? This is miserable. I’ve considered taking a fever reducer so that the headache would go away, but aren’t you supposed to let your body do its thing?

Help!

9 thoughts on “What a Way to Start the Year

  1. Dosha! I called it all the wrong stuff on my post today.

    If you intend to be an active member of society tomorrow, there’s nothing wrong with taking a fever reducer.

    Sounds like a sinus infection.

    Cucumbers are cooling too. It’s not just a saying.

    I hope you feel better!

  2. I didn’t know anything about doshas until I read your post. (I took the test and found out I’m a Vata, by the way)

    But anyway, back to you…. Yeah, I agree with Katrice0321. Take a fever reducer and/or pain killer just to help you get through with your responsibilities (meeting, etc.) tomorrow and then come home and let your body do it’s thing.

    Of course, it will take days for you to feel back to normal, because let’s face it, you are already sick and that can’t be reversed. You simply have to let the illness run it’s course. But in the meantime…

    Nice hot baths with epsom salt and/or other salts.

    Plenty of water

    Fruit Vinegar in a solution of water

    Plenty of sleep

    Feel better soon, I hope!

  3. Poor Lexi. Do what you must to get through your meeting, then go home and straight to bed.

    I have a little something for you at my place, but it won’t do much for your fever.

    I hope you feel better soon!

  4. I had the “winter blues with lots of snot” last week and took conventional symptom treatments.

    I hope you’re feeling a bit better.

  5. while i’m all for letting the body heal itself, or at least helping it do so naturally, i’m with jali… sometimes a good ol’ OTC remedy gets a girl back on track.

    feel better soon!

  6. Leeches!

    Just kidding. Unfortunately, I’ve found that once a germ takes hold, you’ve just got to ride the damn thing out.

    Good luck with your meeting! Hope those fever-induced pink hippos stay away.

  7. I hope you are better by now!! I am on the front end of something very similar to what you had. I believe My Kid aka Vector of Disease brought this bastard thing home. Yuck.

  8. What do those church ladies say?

    Illness, I ________ you!!!

    That’s my sentiment for you – I just can’t remember the word.

    Ooooh.Ohhhh. Ohhhh!

    Illness, I REBUKE you!!!

    There.

Leave a Reply

