Ready to Go Natural

I’ve been thinking about my relationship with my hair for quite some time.  I remember going around and around about whether I should go natural or continue to relax my hair hundreds of times over the years.  One of my most popular posts has been I Am Not My Hair

I think I have finally decided to do it.  I’m going to go completely natural all at once.  Yes.  That means the Big Chop.  My relaxer has grown out for about 8 weeks now (I may give it a few more weeks), but it’s time.  I have considered many of the same things all black women consider before taking the plunge:  what will people think, will I be attractive, will others find me attractive, does my hair define me, am I confident enough to do this, do I have the face for bald, should I lose more weight first, can I find a new job natural.  I’ve considered it all.  Here’s my conclusion:

I am not my hair.  My hair doesn’t define me, I am not identified by it — regardless of how others my use my hairstyle to categorize me.  I am, however, completely out of touch with a very significant facet of myself.  I have not seen my natural hair since I was 7 years old.  I don’t even remember what I look like with my hair not straightened with chemicals.  That makes me sad.  I am a black woman and I love when I see other sisters rock their natural hair with confidence.  I am trying to live a lifestyle that embraces ease and an improved quality of life.  I currently spend way too much time worrying about my hair and how to care for it and I am really annoyed that it prevents me from swimming 4 days a week if I want to!  While relaxing hair is supposed to make it more manageable…the upkeep is a drain on time and energy and I’m ready to be free from it.  I’m not doing this because I think that somehow I am a “sell-out” for relaxing my hair — because I don’t.  I’m not motivated by anything negative like that.  I’m just ready for a change and I’m choosing something that will make my life a lot easier (I think).

So, when?  I’m not sure.  I don’t want to deal with the Chop and the current workplace — but maybe.  I’m anxious to do it, so I may do it before my birthday (June 6th).  It’ll be my 35th, so maybe I’ll do it in honor of my new life and all.  We’ll see.  I’ll post before and after pics for sure.

I’m ready!  Let’s do this.

UPDATE:  My brother’s response in an IM:

 Rick: Natural as in NAPPY? Hell nawwwww
 me: hahahahahahahah  Yes!!!!
 Rick: I will disown yo ass!

 Rick: haha
 me: you are gonna get me fired!
I just posted your comment on my blog!
Yes. I’m going to do it in the next month or so.
Big Chop
All Gone
Start from Scratch
 Rick: OK you trying to be ***** *********’s twin.
hahahaha
 me: ewwwwww!!!  Fighting words!!!!!!
 Rick: ha haaaaa
 me: I’m cute!!!!
And I plan to let it GROW!  It’s not going to stay short forever!!!
I’ll be in Texas, you won’t have to look at it! Asshole!
hahahaha
 Rick: aaaaight Kizzy
 me: Damn, Rick!
hahaha
 Rick: HAHAHA
  Rick: Alexis B. My Last Name
 me: Huh?

 Rick: Beadie Bead, Buckshot, Baby Bush…take your pick.
OK OK OK i am just playin’
HAHAHAHA

Oh, God!  LMAO.  I’m glad I don’t care what other people think!!

15 thoughts on “Ready to Go Natural

  1. I used lemon juice in my shampoo to help my hair loc. It worked pretty well- My baby locs were beautiful – I don’t know how it would work on an afro but I’ll bet a stylist would be able to tell you.

    You’re gorgeous, so I think a short ‘fro would look good on you – the same look from the front as when you wear a pulled back ponytail.

  2. Now that’s funny. I celebrate the emergence of the new you. Go for it, be the true you, live love and laugh alot! Ye-ah!

  3. you know,

    the big chop was never a thing to “consider” for me. i just did it. i went natural completely by accident. i had relaxer and my stylist was out of town the weekend i wanted to get it done. my hair grows quite quickly so after 6 weeks i had quite the bit of new growth. so, in her absence i just chopped off the straight ends and went fro. that’s it that’s all.

    you can do it! you will love it!

  4. You are not your hair. You are not what people say you are.You are what is in your heart. Everything else is made up in people’s minds. “what is beautiful?” it is something we created, not reality.
    Go free, you are beautiful!

  5. i want to do the big chop but im wondering how long it takes to gow back.cause i want to go completley bald no hair at all but someone told me it would take a yr just to ge a baby fro and im not worried about thelength im just asking hw long can someone answer asap email brianca.lindsey@yahoo.com

  6. Comfortably the post is actually the greatest on this valuable topic. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your incoming updates. Saying thanks will not just be enough, for the lucidity in your writing. I will instantly grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Authentic work and much success in your business dealings!

    The reasons you started smoking are probably not around anymore. You don’t need to act cool, be swayed by peer pressure, cope with teen emotions, or do what grown-ups or stars do. So stop smoking today!.Health is not everything, but without health, everything else is nothing.

Leave a Reply

