Baby steps are getting bigger…

Funny how things work out in our best interest, even when we least expect it.  I’ve been planning to tear myself away from cable television for a long time now.  First, I spend too much time unconsciously watching it or having it play in the background for no good reason.  Background noise distracts me; it doesn’t help me focus, as others claim.   And I don’t know about yours, but my combined cable-internet-phone bill is $165 per month.  That’s way too expensive when there are better things I want to spend my money on – like Reiki treatments (more on that in a bit).

Well, Comcast sucks ass and has consistently locked me out of my online account over the last few months.  I call and get things set up again and when I log on to pay the bill the following month, I can’t get in.  I do things when I have the impulse to do them – this includes paying bills.  That impulse usually hits around payday while I am sitting at my computer at work.  I have paperless billing and I pay everything online but my rent.  Everything.  Well since Comcast hasn’t been cooperating, I have apparently relegated them to the fate of the other “out-of-sight-out-of-mind” things in my life.  I haven’t paid them –probably 2 months running now.  Yesterday I came home to notice that my cable box no longer displayed the time (I can’t even get the TIME for free!!).  I quickly realized that, oops, cable bill hasn’t been paid so no cable, internet or land line for me. 

I sat in my quiet apartment and realized that I enjoy it.  I had time to read and think and journal and meditate and I wasn’t tempted to distract myself from those nobler tasks by watching my TiVo’d reality shows or Rachel Ray make yet another meal I’ll never cook.  I liked my night without TV and I knew I would, I just couldn’t bring myself to make the decision to end my cable addiction on my own.  I needed help.  Well help has come and — lest I be criticized for not paying my bills – I’ve decided to pay Comcast what I owe them and have them come pick up my cable boxes and modem.    That’s right!  No more TV or internet at home for Lex.  This is a good time for it too.  My lease is up in August.  I hope to be moving by then and I’ll reconsider introducing them back into my home when I’m settled in a new one.

I still have my Crackberry, so I won’t be completely isolated from the rest of civilization and there are more than enough places near my house with free WiFi for me to go somewhere deliberately for a set amount of time to do whatever  I need to do online. 

I feel so light today.

P.S. – Has anyone had a Reiki treatment?  I’m scheduling one soon to see what it’s like but I want to hear stories first.

5 thoughts on “Baby steps are getting bigger…

  1. Wow. I don’t think I could do that. Even though I only watch TV during certain hours, I loves me some TiVo.

    I never had a Reiki treatment before, but my boss is a Reiki Master. I should ask her if she’ll do one for me. Although, I’m so screwed up and stressed out at the moment that her hand would probably burn off.

  2. Wow. I’m so impressed.

    Before I married Flip, I never watched TV at all. I owned one, but it was covered with a quilt and used as a lamp table. He corrupted me, but I could easily do without it again. Internet is another story, though. I am quite addicted there, which probably means that it should be an area I work on changing.

    You are a brave, brave woman, Lex. Many people talk a good game, but you actually follow through. I so admire you for your endless determination to be fully alive and to eliminate the distractions that drug most of us.

    I hope you are keeping a written record of your journey to full consciousness because it would help so many to live their best possible lives.

  3. I could never do it. I don’t watch much TV, but I use it as a personal retreat late at night when everyone is asleep. I watch all the shows I like but have missed at their regular times, thanks to the recording feature on my current cable.

    If I may offer some advice, the equivalent to Comcast here in Dallas is Time-Warner Cable. We were paying the same ridiculous rates with them here that we were paying in Maryland for Comcast. They totally ruined my account when we moved into the new house and it took over a month and hours on the phone with reps and supervisors to get it resolved. We are now loyal customers of DirecTV. I’m paying much less for more features and they haven’t mysteriously lost service for hours at a time like TWC did. (We were once out of service for two days.)

    I still have TWC just for internet, only because all four of us depend on internet for work and school and it is the fastest internet available in my neighborhood at the moment. But the moment there is a better option, they’re history!

  4. Hey Lex,

    My therapist does reiki treatments on me periodically. She’s great. The first time, I didn’t know what I was supposed to “feel” (in the head or the body), but I felt some level of clarity and calm afterwards. I definitely recommend it and her. She has her own reiki practice aside from therapy. I would do more treatments but the cashflow just isn’t there right now for me.

    As for the tv/internet free living, I applaud you. I guess I’m online too much to consider going cold turkey, but perhaps a slow weaning process might work for me.

    And finally, MSN listed San Antonio, TX as the friendliest city in the US. When I saw that this week, I thought of you. The cost of living is significantly more affordable there, as well. Good luck in the search.

Leave a Reply

