When Young People Talk to Old People

Granny died Tuesday. I will miss her, but I am glad she isn’t sick anymore. I’m glad that she didn’t have to live long with others taking care of her. Three days before her stroke she hung out with me at my 35th birthday party until they turned the lights off on us in the restaurant. At 90 years old, she cooked for herself, arranged her own social calendar, cooked for her church group, took care of 3 Labrador Retrievers and 1 Maltese, washed and pressed her own hair, came to all of our events, remembered all of our birthdays and cell phone numbers (or at least remembered what page they were on in her un-alphabetized address book), hosted family dinners, walked unassisted, got out on the dance floor with us learning to put her hands on her knees and drop it like its hot, sent me into spins while doing the Hustle, treated everyone in the world like family and laughed until she cried. She wouldn’t have wanted to have someone take care of her all the time. She was independent way too long to end up like that.

I didn’t know what I would write in her honor here and, while I am sure that I will write more as I reflect on my life with her, today I will recognize her spirit in the other people her age who have visited the family this week. Apparently Granny is not alone in her looseness of lip at this age. Check it:

Hi Alexis. You are going to lose some weight, aren’t you?

Gerri! Obesity! Don’t you know obesity kills people? Why did you let yourself go and get fat-sized?

Well, when I die, I want to be cremated. That way, y’all can take my ashes and give them to my best girl so she can put them in her douche bag and let me run through her one last time!

Wasn’t it India.Arie who said that when young people talk to old people we’d be a better people all around?

8 thoughts on “When Young People Talk to Old People

  1. I’m so sorry – my sincerest condolences. I can see, though, she will live on in your memories of her – and that she has given you many happy ones.

  2. I am so sorry to hear about the passing of your grandmother. It seems though, she lived a very fulfilling life and you will be laughing at the memories for years to come.

  3. Your granny was great. I enjoyed laughing it up with her at one of your parties. I’m glad she’s at peace and hope the family finds peace at this time also.

    Did someone really say that about the douche bag???

  4. @ bob

    Thank you so much. She will and she has.

    @ lashawn

    Thanks you, Lady. I sure will.

    @ debbie

    Thanks, Sweetie.

    @ katrice

    She was. Thank you. Yes, my uncle Steve – Granny’s 85 year old brother – made the douche bag statement to the undertaker!

    @ rawdawgb

    You know, I appreciate conversations with old people so much more after this last month with my Granny.

    And, dawg! Why can’t folk here be the YOUNG ones!?!?

  5. I’m so sorry about your grandmother, Lex. It sounds as if she lived a fully realized life, the kind we all hope to attain, and I totally agree that being taken care of would be unacceptable at any age.

    She sounds like a super-great lady, and I’m sure she was very, very proud of you. Thanks for sharing the love!

Leave a Reply

