Write the Vision

Bariloche, Argentina -- where I fell in love with mountains and lakes.

Bariloche, Argentina -- where I fell in love with mountains and lakes.

Somehow, in a conversation with a friend of mine today about how I am doing, we ended up talking about creating the life we want. He told me that he thought it was ballsy of me to be making the decisions I am making in order to have that very life. I told him that I didn’t think it was ballsy, necessarily, but that it was just a matter of getting clear about it. I honestly believe that, when we get clear about what we want, the universe sets things in motion to manifest those things. I don’t have any answers for how that works. I just know that I am witnessing it in my own life and I believe it.

I encouraged him to do an activity I did back in February and I encourage anyone here who wants to get clear on the life they want to try it as well. I read my response to the prompt for the first time today and I am so tickled by the ways I am closer I am to this life now than I was when I wrote it. Here’s the prompt and my response follows.

I was guided in this prompt by my holistic health practitioner. If there is some source I should credit for it, I am not aware of it and I will gladly give credit if someone informs me of the source.

Imagine life if nothing stopped you. What would optimal life look like?

If anything were possible quickly, easily, now — what would life look like? Who would you be? Where would you live? What would you feel like? What would you look like? How much money would you be making?

Here’s what I wrote on February 10, 2008 — complete stream of consciousness.

If nothing stopped me, I would be able to do what I wanted whenever I had the unction. I would be able to follow my heart, throw caution to the wind and be alleviated of the burden of practicality.

In my optimal life, I would be independently wealthy. I don’t care if I inherited the wealth or worked hard for it. I would be free of the daily grind of having to work according to someone else’s schedule.

I would have apartments in great cities around the word: Seattle, New York, Los Angeles, Paris, Milan, Buenos Aires, Santiago de Chile. And cottages in picturesque mountain areas: Mammoth Lakes, Aspen, Bariloche, etc.

I would visit whichever city I wanted and have complete furnishings in each place.

My family would want for nothing and be in perfect health. My parents will be retired and have everything the ever wanted. The would never have to worry about money or making sure we were okay ever again. My extended family will be able to count on e if they ever needed anything — and I would have awesome boundaries to be able to say no when/if they ever took advantage.

I would be peaceful. I would start my days peacefully and contemplatively — not worried about racing against a clock. I’d have tea in the mornings, exercise, have a healthy breakfast and begin my day.

My days would consist of contributing in some way to a cause that matters to me:

  • Lobbying on anti-violence against women issues
  • Child sexual abuse awareness
  • African-American self-image

As I look back on this, there are already things that make me cringe and ways the vision has changed. It will be interesting to observe the evolution of this vision.

I would dance and have cocktails in the evenings with friends, colleagues in my movements and/or other contemplatives.

I would feel happy, loved, fulfilled as a woman-wife-mother, socially responsible, healthy, self-aware, enlightened, energetic, serene, free.

I would sit and talk to people a lot.

I would write about the things that are ablaze in my heart at the moment.

I’d tell my story. I think I would be telling my story and encouraging others to face and share theirs.

I would be a good size 8 with muscle definition and keep breasts a D-cup still.

I would have a style all m own that a stylist would have to help me define – since I am useless at it.

My hair would be in some style that is easy to go from the gym to the boardroom with little effort.

I would look dazzling in my high-heels that don’t hurt!

I would feel deep love and devotion for someone who shares the same feelings for me. I would feel encouraged by this person to be my own person and follow my passions. We would cook together and complement each other well in our personal settings and public ones. We’d easily fit in with each other’s circle of friends–without needing to blend them necessarily.

I would have one child — a daughter who would travel with us as much as possible. She would speak at least 2 languages as I would emphasize the importance of a global perspective to her in terms of:

  • business opportunities
  • social justice
  • philosophy/religion

I would be married. I will have adopted my daughter.

I would invite family and friends to vacation with me at different times of the year at my expense. I wouldn’t want them to be worried about not being able to afford to come.

Should you choose to use the prompt and I care to share, I’d love to hear your vision.

In retrospect, there are things here that make me cringe. It will be interesting to see how the vision evolves.

6 thoughts on “Write the Vision

  1. Provenance will be difficult to suss, in the way that “Who are you not to be?” seems to be stolen from Mandela, but it sounds like “What would you attempt if you knew you could not fail?” It appears on various products and keepsakes. I first saw it, ironically, on a lovely paperweight.

  2. Actually, “Who are you not to be?” isn’t Mandela’s at all. He credits the originator, Marianne Williamson, from A Return to Love: Reflections on the Princlples of A Course in Miracles . But you’re right. I may not ever track it down — I just didn’t want it to seem like I was taking credit for it if it’s a passage out of some best selling self-help book or something. 😉

    The second questions implies that fear of failure is what keeps us from realizing our dreams. I need to think about that for a while. I’ll get back to that one.

  3. I absolutely believe that it works exactly as you’ve described. I’ve seen it happen in my own life. The key is simply getting clear, which is not really simple at all.

    You’ve reminded me that it’s past time to do it again, to take stock and see where I want to go from here.

    As for you, Missy, since you are working from a good and full heart, there is no doubt that your life will unfold as you choose. I would even bet money on it, and I’m looking forward to watching you achieve all those wonderful things for yourself and others.

  4. @Lex: “Imagine life if nothing stopped you. What would optimal life look like?

    “If anything were possible quickly, easily, now — what would life look like? Who would you be? Where would you live? What would you feel like? What would you look like? How much money would you be making?”

    Lex, for my part I would strip.

    I would strip away all those impediments, those weights that keep me earth bound, and I would spread my wings, and fly, fly away.

    I would strip away all the accumulated debris of my life, the pride, the anger, the disappointments, the wasted time pursuing wasteful ideals, and even more wasteful dreams.

    I would strip away the gravity of adulthood, heavy clothes that stifle my spirit, and walk naked as a child though the world.

    I would strip away the need to compete for fame or fortune, to possess anything at all, but an honest heart within a loving soul.

    I would strip away vanity, the need to appear desirable, or worthy to the human eye, and human expectations.

    I would strip down to nothing but joy and happiness, and let my feelings be my guide, knowing that my Soul desires nothing more from me than this.

    I would strip my bank account to one deposit and keep a balance of zero, knowing that since I possess All, Nothing is required, Nothing is Needed.

    I would strip my being of all that the world claim that I need, require, and must have, to be fulfilled, complete, and satisfied.

    I would strip down to Nothing at All, knowing that with an vessel empty, I now have room to fill it with All that I hold as wealth, and riches.

    Namaste

  5. the boy asked me a version of this question some time ago, and it stopped me in my tracks. i couldn’t even articulate it. but now, as i grow closer to realizing what i do/n’t want in my life, i realize that my life’s passions are all the things that were suppressed in me as a child, as a teen, by jealous peers and well-meaning parents (who were worried about what kind of future their little black girl would have in this white, white world we live in).

    i would pursue all of the things i wasn’t allowed to do, and conquer the fears i’ve built up/adopted around them. one by one, i’d face them and surmount them. i’d set my own course, and live by a set of rules that flew in the face of naysayers and haters! w00t!

    i dream of that life often, and wonder how i’ll get there in the next seven years (because happen, it must).

    i too, want [an] adopted child[ren]… twin boys, or one little girl, like you. my travelling companion and cultured little being with big eyes and even bigger hair. wise beyond her years and smart, smart!

    thanks for bringing this up.
    you always have such lovely thought-provoking posts.

  6. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

