Thoughts on God on Your Own

Since consciousness is one, if you have done it in yourself you have done it in all. ~Joseph Dispenza

I have just finished reading Joseph Dispenza’s book, God on Your Own: Finding a Spiritual Path Outside Religion. I thought I’d share my immediate impressions.

In an effort to be present to my feelings immediately after turning the last page, here is what I notice. I am feeling grateful, relieved, encouraged in my journey, grounded in what I am coming to know as truth and in the process (means, practice) of knowing in general. I am more sure of where I am in my spiritual journey than I ever was in organized religion. And I am thankful.

With that said, there remains one rub for me. While I value his experience in finding his spiritual path after years in the Catholic monastic life, I couldn’t help but be slightly unsettled with with his “othering” of the path of religion. Almost immediately I noticed a tone of “that’s the wrong path” and for those of you who want a better path, keep reading. I don’t think that was his intention and he certainly doesn’t assume that his path is “best”, but the idea that religion is wrong was an overtone that I felt at various points throughout my reading.

As much as organized religion is not the path for me and for many (and a growing number of others), I am not prepared to “wrong” those paths. Again, I bring with me some things I hold as truth from Christianity. As a whole, however, the religion (and religion in general) results in more questions than answers. But, for those who find their soul’s satisfaction in the answers it proffers — who am I to judge?

Here’s a prayer from the book that will stay with me for a long time. It has left quite an impression and will inform, from this point on, what I do with prayer.

Thank you, Source of our lives, for already having given us all we need for this fascinating journey in the flesh–and thank you also for continuing to be here when we have not fully grasped our fundamental connection to you. May we always remember that unbreakable bond–but if we forget, remind us, lest we begin to believe the unthinkable: that we are somehow separated from you [and all].

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on God on Your Own

  1. That one element you mention – the author’s tendency to “other” people who do prefer organized religion – would have turned me off, too, but it’s reasonably predictable. So many people who leave organized religion have all kinds of residual issues (and anger) about their experiences. Still, many people find it meaningful and that is a worthy thing in itself.

    I’m guilty of doing that in some areas (not necessarily in that area – but others) and it’s a good reminder to watch that. 🙂

    Glad you are finding your own path. It will be interesting to read about what you’ve found – and how it enhances your life!

    ~*

  2. In an effort to ‘get back my religion’, I went to church yesterday. I must admit I felt really out of place with all the shouting, speaking in tongues, moaning, and falling out. I thought I would go back and fall right into the groove of things. After last week I thought I would go yesterday and become a member. I guess it wasn’t in the plans.

    I think some look to religion for a sense of the familiar, but now I am more confused than ever. I really don’t know what path to take. I know that I have a connection to a higher source, I just need an outlet in which to cultivate it.

  3. despite my lack of belief, I certainly don’t have a problem that others do believe. In fact, I occasionally envy their certainty and the solace they find with it.

    I find the collective attitude of most “organized” religion distressing as they seem to be more exclusive than inclusive, with more rules against than rules for.

  4. I like the prayer and the reminder that in the end, it’s a one on one connection… for me that is me and Jesus. Organized religion and church are mysteries for me, but I’m not at a point to tackle those mysteries. It’s much more interesting to figure out the me and Him thing out.

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. I have followed the path of disorganized religion, for lack of a better word, most of my life, at first by default because I was not raised in a particular tradition except in name and later by choice as I tried out various organized religious and none seemed a perfect fit. I used to wonder if I was merely arrogant but have come to appreciate that my path is meant to arrive at my own conclusions in my own way. I feel a deep connection to the great mystery and to other living beings, but am also a loner albeit a sociable one.

    That’s a wonderful quote and I am open to most views as long as they remain open to different ones as well. But when anyone professes to be the one true way, I seriously doubt it.

  6. I’m at a place where I really can’t read any books on the subject. I either totally disagree or get easily confused by other people’s religious/non-religious views. There are a few things that I am sure of as far as my own spirituality is concerned. And all of those things are refreshingly simple. Anything that makes it complicated is a huge turn-off to me.

    I like Heart’s term “disorganized religion.” I’m totally comfortable with my own relationship with God, but totally uncomfortable with the typical expressions of that in church. Honestly, the only reason I have even started back going to church is so that my home-schooled kids can have a social life.

Leave a Reply

