I need the dust to settle. But in the meantime…

I moved last weekend and I continue to bring car loads of odds and ends from the old apartment.  I should bring the last car load on Saturday.  There are, however, certain things that absolutely must be in place on the new end for me to be sane.  I must do the following within the first 2 days:

  1. Unpack and organize my bedroom and closet.
  2. Install my detatchable shower head.
  3. Unpack the box marked “Priority 1 Books”.
  4. Unpack my knives and spices.

My bedroom has to be in order as close to immediately as possible.  I have to be able to retreat from the mayhem of boxes and bags, close the door and find order and peace.  My sanctuary.

The detachable shower head is just a must because — when you’re sweaty and funky from carrying boxes up and down stairs — this is not the time to make adjustments to your bathing protocol. One needs all the comforts and accoutrements she’s used to.

Do I even need to mention why Book Box 1 must be unpacked?  I didn’t think so.

Same for knives and spices.  I can make do with any pan, but I need my knives and spices to make a comforting meal.

What about you?  When you move, what are the first things you need access to?

4 thoughts on “I need the dust to settle. But in the meantime…

  1. I can’t live without my comfy pajamas, my spices (but I need my non-stick pan as well), and my hair products! I’m glad to know you’ll soon be settled into your new abode!

  2. I need my slippers, my tea, tea kettle (i’m old!!), and a mug. I warm cup of green tea brings immediate peace of mind in the midst of chaos.

    Congrats on the move.

Leave a Reply

