Remembering

black-father-and-daughter

Today my childhood friend, Shellie, is having a hard time getting through the third anniversary of her father’s death.  My heart goes out to her.  I know how much he meant to her and how hard it still is to face the loss.

Shortly after he passed I wrote this post.  It has been fascinating to go back three years and read where I was then.  Most of the guys I mention at the end of the post are still in my life and some have had life changes of their own that have actually made our friendships richer.  I could definitely add to that list now.

Have I run into a jerk or two along the way? Absolutley.  But I remain committed to my fundamental belief that people are inherently good and loving.  I won’t be daunted by the shadows that threaten to convince me otherwise.

Remembering Mark Millings today and thinking of you, Shellie Bell.

~Peace

3 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. That’s a really good way to look at it. The more we let go of the “jerks”, the more space for the good folks. It’s just a matter of recognizing the jerks quickly… 🙂

    ~*

  2. I hope that at some point soon, Shellie’s happy memories of her father will overtake the sad ones, and she will be stronger than ever, as he doubtless taught her to be.

    It’s never easy, but eventually life calls us back and with it, our enthusiasm and even joy return as well.

Leave a Reply

